Dr Julian Gibbons confirmed as 2018 alumni speaker

Dr Julian Gibbons has been confirmed as the alumni speaker for 2018. Julian was a NMSS student in 2003 and 2004 before returning as a tutor from 2006 to 2008. He completed his PhD at Imperial College London in 2013 and is currently a senior analyst at Google.

The Alumni Lectures have been a tradition of the School for almost as long as NMSS has existed. Each year an alum speaks to the students and staff about their own experiences as a NMSS student and what they have gone on to do since attending, providing great insight into how mathematics and thinking mathematically features in many interesting and varied careers.


NMSS 2017 concludes

The 49th ANU-AAMT National Mathematics Summer School has officially concluded! Thanks to all the students and staff for contributing towards such an enjoyable and satisfying two weeks.

The 2017 NMSS staff and invited speakers were:

  • Director:
    • A/Prof. Leon Poladian
  • Deputy Director:
    • A/Prof. Leanne Rylands
  • Welfare Officers:
    • Ms Thanom Shaw
    • Mr Michael Smith
  • Lecturers:
    • Dr Zoltán Bácskai
    • Dr Norm Do
    • Dr David Harvey
    • Dr Merryn Horrocks
    • Dr Jonathan Kress
    • A/Prof. Leon Poladian
    • A/Prof. Leanne Rylands
    • Dr Olivia Smith
  • Tutors:
    • Mr Michael Bammann
    • Mr Tom Clement
    • Mr Sean Gardiner
    • Dr David Gruenewald
    • Dr Brendan McMonigal
    • Mr Edwin Spark
    • Ms Emily Thompson
    • Ms Stephanie Wang
    • Dr Yinan Zhang
  • Academy Lecturer:
    • Prof. David Celemajer
  • Alumni Lecturer:
    • Prof. Belinda Medlyn

The 50th NMSS will be held from 7 January to 20 January in 2018.